North Carolina
 Building Inspector's Association

Welcome to the NCBIA Website.

In 1955, Edison Hubert Johnson, P.E., then Chief Building Inspector for Durham and Kern E. Church, P.E., then Assistant State Fire Marshal began discussions on the possibility of organizing a State Building Inspector's Association and on June 26th, 1956 the NC Building Inspectors' Association was chartered. Ed Johnson became the first President and Kern Church became the first Secretary/Treasurer of NCBIA. Along with the help of many other dedicated professionals then and over the years, this Association has grown to what it is today. Thanks to all the hard working and dedicated Professionals across our great State protecting the health and safety of the citizens of North Carolina.
Mark Matheny
2017-2018 President
Education, Integrity, Professionalism
Board of Directors
Articles of Incorporation
Our History
COCO Newsletters
Inspector Lookup
Meeting Minutes
NCBIA Committee's
What's New!
Inspection Departments
NC Codes Online
Code Resources
Education - Integrity - Professionalism
Contact Us
Disaster Code Enforcement
 Response Teams
Home Page
Become a Member
Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 17
Greenville, NC 27835
 Dan Dockery
Education, Integrity & Professionalism
2017 Building Inspector of the Year :  Ernie Wilkes, City of Raleigh
2017 Edison "Hubert" Johnson Award: Amy Britt, Town of Clayton 
ncbia2016001004.jpg ncbia2016001003.jpg
Subscribe for news and information
Free Download
NCDOI Guidance Paper
AHJ Informal Internal Review
Information on NCBIA 2018 Winter Code Seminars